Mayor Turner's LGBTQ Advisory Board

Mayor Turner's LGBTQ Advisory Board

You + Houston.

We serve as a liaison between the LGBTQIAP+ community and Mayor Sylvester Turner.



Our Goals for 2018.

Data Gathering

Expanding Outreach

Cultivating Relationships

Our Mission

Mayor Sylvester Turner formed our Board following the tragic massacre of 49 LGBTQIA+ individuals, disproportionately people of color, in June of 2016 in Orlando. Our board serves as a direct link between the Mayor's office and the LGBTQIA+ community, providing advice and recommendations on issues.

The board exemplifies the diversity of the Houston LGBTQIA+ community, and consists of White/Non-Hispanic, African-American, Hispanic, Asian , and biracial members. These individuals represent identities from across the LGBTQIA spectrum—including representatives from the gay, lesbian, bisexual, queer, transgender, intersex, and straight ally communities.

Initially 49 members were appointed as a reverent nod to the 49 victims of The Pulse massacre in Orlando, we are now 39 active members who represent a broad spectrum of voices and action across communities.

The LGBTQ Advisory Board exists to serve as a liaison between the LGBTQIAP+ community and the Mayor.

The Board will provide recommendations on policies that will end discrimination and advance the social, economic and political issues that impact the city of Houston to improve the quality of life for the LGBTQIAP+ community.

Our Board

Harrison Guy

Board Co-Chair

Harrison Guy is currently serving as a co-chair of the Advisory Board. He is the Founder and Artistic Director of Urban Souls Dance Company and works in Business Services at The University of Houston. He identifies as a proud Black gay man.

Melanie Pang

Board Co-Chair

Melanie was appointed a co-chair of the Advisory Board in 2016 when the board was created. She is manager of emergency services for the Salvation Army of Greater Houston. Melanie is an out queer Asian American woman.

Tammi Wallace

Engagement Co-Chair

Frances Valdez

Engagement Co-Chair

Alan Dettlaff

Policy Co-Chair

Januari Leo

Policy Co-Chair

Tamira "Augie" Augustine

Visibility Chair

Brandon Mack

Research Coordinator

Renita Cooksey


Erika Richie


Christopher Busby


Aaron Flores





Lily Pando
Rick Rodriguez
Dee Dee Watters
Brad Pritchett
Tim Martinez
Barry Mandel
Monica Roberts
Crystal Solares-Bockmon


Dennis C Beedon
Steven Guthrie
Ryan Leach
Brandon Wilke
Ashton P. Woods
Ray Purser
Kennedy Loftin
Mark Chupik
Richard Lapin


Aurora Harris
Becca Keo-Meier
Isabel Longoria
Eesha Pandit
Tiffany Ross
Fran Watson

Organizations Represented on Mayor Turner’s LGBTQ Advisory Board

AIDS Healthcare Foundation
Black Lives Matter: Houston
Black Transwomen, Inc.
Epsilon Xi Gamma, Inc.
Equality Texas
Gender Infinity
Greater Houston LGBT Chamber of Commerce
Houston Hispanic Chamber of Commerce
Houston Hispanic Forum
Houston Transgender Unity Committee
Legacy Community Health
Lesbian Health Initiative
LYFE Project
Mental Health America of Greater Houston
Montrose Center
The Houston Intersex Society
The Salvation Army of Greater Houston
The Strength In Numbers Project
Transgender Foundation of America
TWCUC and Tha 1st Amendment
University of Houston
Graduate College of Social Work
Victory Fund